Episode 54

In this episode we look at the way the cycle plays developed in the four major centres from where we have complete versions of the cycle: York, Chester, Coventry and Wakefield.

The development of the York Plays

Further details on the guilds and how they functioned in society

The development of the Chester plays

The development of the Coventry Cycle

The development of the Wakefield cycle

The N-Town cycle Manuscript

The Wakefield cycle plays

The literary merits of the plays

For the list of plays and associated guilds from York see: www.thehistoryofeuropeantheare.com/blog

Support the podcast here: